clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Heisman Trophy winner: Johnny Manziel edges Notre Dame's Manti Te'o

Johnny Manziel is the first freshman to win the Heisman Trophy.

Ronald Martinez

Johnny Manziel became the first freshman to ever win the Heisman Trophy as he edged out Notre Dame's Manti Te'o and Kansas State's Collin Klein for the 2012 award on Saturday.

Manziel became the first Texas A&M player to win the Heisman since running back John David Crow in 1957. Manziel is the third straight quarterback to win the Heisman, after Robert Griffin III and Cam Newton won it in 2011 and 2010.

Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o was attempting to become the first defensive player to win the award since Michigan's Charles Woodson in 1997. Te'o led Notre Dame to a perfect 12-0 season and a berth in the National Championship game against Alabama on Jan. 7.

Te'o had 101 tackles and seven interceptions for the Fighting Irish this season.

Manziel completed 68.3 percent of his passes for 3,419 yards and 24 passing touchdowns to just eight interceptions this season. Manziel also rushed for 1,181 yards and led the SEC with 19 rushing touchdowns.