clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Notre Dame's Manti Te'o named finalist for Maxwell, Bednarik Awards

Notre Dame LB Manti Te'o has now been nominated for six awards, adding the Maxwell and Bednarik trophies to his list.


Notre Dame Fighting Irish linebacker Manti Te'o is a finalist for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards, according to CSN Chicago's JJ Stankevitz.

Prior to the announcement of those nominations, Te'o was already a finalist for the Nagurski Trophy, Lomardi Award, Campbell Trophy and Senior CLASS Award. All that's left for the senior captain is a Heisman Trophy nomination, which is usually a longshot for a defensive players. This year's list of Heisman finalists will be announced after the completion of the regular season.

Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel and Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein are the other finalists for the Maxwell Award, which is given to the nation's top collegiate player. Georgia linebacker Jarvis Jones and South Carolina defensive end Jadeveon Clowney join Te'o as finalists for the Bednarik Award, which annually honors the top defensive player in the country.

Te'o isn't Notre Dame's only player to be nominated for a major award. Tyler Eifert was named as a finalist for the Mackey Award, given to the nation's best tight end. He is joined by Washington's Austin Seferian-Jenkins and Stanford's Zach Ertz.