clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Northwestern Football Team Names Four Team Captains

The Northwestern football team has selected its four team captains.

Getty Images

The Northwestern football team has named senior offensive lineman Brian Mulroe, senior defensive lineman Brian Arnfelt, senior linebacker David Nwabuisi and junior quarterback Kain Colter team captains this season, according to a university news release:

Head coach Pat Fitzgerald announced the quartet to a strong showing of Wildcats fans at Meet the Team Night Friday evening at Ryan Field. All four are first-time captains for NU.

"Very similar to everything we do, I think it's important for the players to have their voice heard," Fitzgerald said. "The guys that they respect and believe in should be captains. We believe in doing it after camp, after we've gone through all the preparation phases we can go through. By now the guys know exactly the most respected and trusted individuals on the team that will be given the honor and responsibility of being team captain."

Mulrow was an All-Big Ten honorable mention last season. Arnfelt had an injury-plagued junior season, but impressed the team in the offseason with his work ethic. Nwabuisi was named to the Butkus Award watch list. Colter split time between quarterback and wide receiver last season and opens this season as the starting quarterback.

For more on the Northwestern Wildcats, visit Sippin' on Purple.