clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big Ten Media Days 2012: Pat Fitzgerald Suggests Committee Approach To Determining Big Ten Championship Game Participants

Ohio State and Penn State are ineligible to participate in the Big Ten title game in 2012, and since both of those schools are in the Leaders Division, it leaves the competition between the league's two divisions uneven -- four schools will be competing for one division title/championship game berth, while six schools will be competing for the other.

Related: Under Armour Northwestern Football Uniforms Are Here, Stripey

Northwestern is in the Legends Division, which is still at full strength. When asked about the competitive balance of the league in 2012, Wildcats head coach Pat Fitgerald tossed out a new idea for selecting conference championship game participants:

But from a macro and a big picture standpoint, you know, maybe our division winner should automatically be in the championship, and then you take the other teams that are eligible and we put a committee together, the 12 ADs, and Commissioner Delany as the 13th vote, and kind of how we're doing the playoff. That would make a little bit of sense to me.

I like the idea maybe having two guys from our division in. So who knows? Any way to get to Indianapolis, that's what it's all about, and I think that's what every team's focus is to play for the Big Ten championship.

For updates on Big Ten football, stay tuned to SB Nation Chicago. For more Northwestern football coverage, visit Sippin' On Purple. For all your college football needs, visit SB Nation's NCAA football news hub.