clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

College Football Awards 2012: Illinois, Notre Dame Place Several Finalists For Nagurski, Outland Awards

Both the Notre Dame Fighting Irish and the Illinois Fighting Illini landed several players on the Bronko Nagurski Award watch list, as well as the Outland Trophy watch list.

Related: Full Nagurski, Outland Watch Lists

The Bronco Nagurski goes annually to the league's top defensive player. Former Nagurski winners include Pro Bowlers CB Champ Bailey and DE Brian Orakpo. The local players to land on the Nagurski watch list this year include:

Bronco Nagurski Award Watch List

  • DE Kapron Lewis-Moore, Notre Dame
  • LB Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
  • LB Jonathan Brown, Illinois
  • DE Michael Buchanan, Illinois

The Outland Trophy is awarded each year to the nation's top offensive lineman. Past winners include Bears lineman OT Gabe Carimi and OT Orlando Pace. Here is a look at the Outland watch list:

Outland Trophy Watch List

  • C Graham Pocic, Illinois
  • DT Akeem Spence, Illinois
  • C Braxston Cave, Notre Dame
  • OT Zack Martin, Notre Dame

For more, stick with SB Nation Chicago. For more on Notre Dame visit One Foot Down and for more on the Big Ten visit Off Tackle Empire. For more news, notes and analysis from around the country, head over to SB Nation's college football news hub.