clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cubs' Darwin Barney wins Gold Glove

Darwin Barney, second baseman for the Chicago Cubs, won a Golden Glove on the strength of a season that saw him put in 141 consecutive games without an error.

Jonathan Daniel

Chicago Cubs second baseman Darwin Barney has won a Gold Glove Award, according to CSN Chicago. Barney's 2012 accomplishments include a National League record-setting streak of 141 consecutive errorless games. That also ties the MLB mark, set by Placido Polanco in his 2007 season with the Detroit Tigers. Barney threw one off the mark against Arizona on Sept. 28, ending his streak. It was his sole error on the year.

Barney is also the recipient of the Fielding Bible Award, which is given to one player at each position, rather than one for the AL and one for the NL. 2012 saw Barney collect 28 runs saved, a measure of defensive effectiveness used by the Fielding Bible. That was the highest total in the league

Barney played for the Triple-A Iowa Cubs from 2009 to 2011, who were then managed by Ryne Sandberg, the last Cub to win a Gold Glove at second base.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube