clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 MLB Hall Of Fame Results: Reds Barry Larkin Voted In, Several Former Cubs and White Sox Receive Votes

Several former Cubs and White Sox on 2012 HOF ballot.

On Monday the Baseball Writers of America released their votes for the Class of 2012. The only player elected Monday was former Reds shortstop Barry Larkin.

In order to be elected into the Hall of Fame you need 75% of the votes. To remain on the ballot for future consideration you need 5% of the votes. Barry Larkin received 86.4% of the votes. This was Larkins third time on the ballot.

Jack Morris and Jeff Bagwell received the second and third most votes respectively but were still pretty far off from qualifying for Cooperstown.

Several former Cubs and White Sox were on this years ballot. Those that received enough votes to remain on the ballot included: Lee Smith (CHC), Tim Raines (CWS), Alan Trammell (former Cubs bench coach), and Rafael Palmeiro (CHC).

Former Cubs and White Sox on the ballot who didn't receive at least 5% of the vote included: Bill Mueller (CHC), Eric Young (CHC), Jeromy Burnitz (CHC), Terry Mulholland (CHC), and Tony Womack (CHC).

Barry Larkin will be enshrined in Cooperstown on July 22nd.