clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Spurs Coach Gregg Popovich To Win Coach Of The Year, According To Report

In a likely surprise to Chicago Bulls fans, coach Tom Thibodeau will not earn his second straight Coach of the Year award -- that honor will belong to San Antonio Spurs head coach Gregg Popovich, according to Mike Monroe of the San Antonio Express-News:

Both Popovich and Thibodeau led their teams to the best record in the NBA at 50-16. While Thibodeau navigated significant injuries to SG Richard Hamilton and PG Derrick Rose, Popovich overcame a 26-13 start to post a 24-3 record through the end of the season with two double-digit winning streaks.

For more on this game, stick with SB Nation Chicago. For more on the Bulls, head over to Blog a Bull. Additional Spurs analysis can be found at Pounding the Rock. For more news, notes and analysis from around the NBA, visit SB Nation's NBA news hub.