clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ladies And Gentlemen, Please Welcome Two More Award-Winning Chicago Bulls

It's probably safe to assume that you know the 2010-11 Chicago Bulls won 62 games during the regular season, finishing first in the Eastern Conference with the best record in the NBA. And, further assuming that you've been watching the rock fly across the court rather than living under one, you no doubt know that head coach Tom Thibodeau won the NBA Coach of the Year award, and point guard David Derrick Rose was named the league's MVP. But the awards don't end there. Oh no.

Today, Bulls General Manager Gar Forman was named a co-recipient of the 2010-11 NBA Executive of the Year. Looking back, it's a little bit funny (as Elton John once sang) how an off-season that appeared to be such a huge disappointment at its conclusion turned into one of the most amazing regular seasons in team history and, we hope, a fantastic postseason as well. Let's fire up the Wayback Machine, shall we?

Forman, of course, missed out on LeBron James as well as former Chicagoan Dwyane Wade and the weepy Chris Bosh in the warm, summer months of 2010. Instead, he had to "settle" for Carlos Boozer (who worsened matters by starting the season injured) along with other seemingly underwhelming notables such as Ronnie Brewer and Kyle Korver (a.k.a., "Bringer of the Hot Sauce"). Giving a roster spot to Turkish import Omer Asik and tacking on the late addition of the aged Kurt Thomas may have seemed like Hail Mary's to some.

But, as we now well know, it all turned to gold on Forman's watch -- thanks in no small part to an astounding breakout season from DRose and some, if hobbled, big steps forward from center Joakim Noah. So congrats to Forman, who will share the award with Pat Riley, President and former head coach of the Miami Heat.

And the awards don't end there. Speaking of Noah, he was named yesterday to the 2010-11 NBA All-Defensive Second Team. The First and Second Defensive Team awards are voted on by all 30 NBA head coaches, with players garnering two points for a "First Team" vote and one point for a "Second Team" vote. Joakim received three "First" votes and nine "Second" votes for a total of 15 points. He was the only Bull to make either team. Dwight Howard of the Orlando Magic finished first overall with 27 "First" votes, two "Second" votes and 56 points.