clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Pro Bowl rosters: Five Bears earn starting spots on NFC roster

Brandon Marshall, Charles Tillman, Tim Jennings, Julius Peppers and Henry Melton were all named starters for the NFC in the 2013 Pro Bowl.


Even though the Chicago Bears might not make the playoffs in 2012, five Bears have been rewarded with spots on the NFC's 2013 Pro Bowl roster -- and they've all been named starters, as well.

Wide receiver Brandon Marshall will start for the NFC, alongside Detroit Lions wide receiver Calvin Johnson. Marshall, who was reunited with Jay Cutler this season, has hauled in 113 passes for 1,466 yards and 11 touchdowns through Chicago's first 15 games -- which is no easy feat, considering Marshall is Chicago's primary, and often only, receiving threat.

Chicago's pair of starting cornerbacks, Charles Tillman and Tim Jennings, will both start for the NFC in the 2013 Pro Bowl. Jennings has an NFL-high eight interceptions so far this season, while Tillman has 82 tackles, 10 forced fumbles and three interceptions.

Defensive end Julius Peppers will start opposite Jason Pierre-Paul. Peppers has three fumble recoveries and a forced fumble to go along with 11.5 sacks.

Defensive tackle Henry Melton will also start for the NFC. Melton has recorded 41 tackles and six sacks so far for the Bears, and has forced two fumbles.

Be sure to check out complete Pro Bowl rosters for both the AFC and NFC here at SB Nation.