clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Hall Of Fame Class of 2011: The Bears' Richard Dent Is In!

As announced by Steve Perry, the president and executive director of the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday night, the enshrinees for 2011 are: Richard Dent, Marshall Faulk, Chris Hanburger, Les Richter, Ed Sabol, Deion Sanders and Shannon Sharpe.

Dent has been waiting nine years for enshrinement in the Hall of Fame; his tough play at defensive end for the Bears from 1983-1993 was one of the key reasons for the team’s success in that era; the photo accompanying this StoryStream™ shows the intensity with which Dent always played. The Bears’ great defense was anchored by him and he was an important part of the Bears’ Super Bowl title season.

Congratulations to Dent and to the Bears and to the other enshrinees, including Ed Sabol, who changed the way we watch football through his work at NFL Films.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2011 will be enshrined in Canton, Ohio, on Aug. 6, 2011, the culmination of a 10-day enshrinement festival.