clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NBA Slam Dunk Contest 2013: Participants, start time, TV schedule and more

Dunkers will be separated by conference this year as All-Star Saturday night's headlining event has a young, high-flying field.

Mike Ehrmann

The Slam Dunk Contest remains the most-anticipated, as well as most-analyzed, event of All-Star Saturday night in the NBA. Dunkers this year will be separated into Eastern and Western conference teams, but the hope for this event is, as always, to see something one hasn't seen before.

Following two rounds of dunks by the six participants -- each getting one per round -- the championship round pits the East's highest-scorer against the West's top dunker. A portion of the title will be decided by a fan vote to be taken on various social media outlets.

Complete coverage of the 2013 NBA All-Star Game

So, the participants. Representing the Western Conference are defending Slam Dunk champion Jeremy Evans of the Utah Jazz, Los Angeles Clippers speedy point guard Eric Bledsoe and Denver Nuggets all-energy man Kenneth Faried. From the Eastern Conference are Toronto Raptors swingman Terrence Ross, James White of the New York Knicks and highlight-maker Gerald Green of the Indiana Pacers.

Beginning at about 8:30 p.m. ET, or, at the conclusion of the other three events of the night, the Slam Dunk Contest will be televised from the Toyota Center in Houston, Texas, by TNT.