clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tour de France 2012 Results: Slovakia's Peter Sagan Takes Stage 1, Fabian Cancellara Retains Yellow Jersey

Peter Sagan became the youngest stage winner at the Tour de France in 19 years on Sunday when the 22-year old Slovakian took Stage 1 on Sunday in the 123-mile race through the Ardennes region. Sagan is the youngest stage winner since Lance Armstrong in 1993.

South suburban Lemont native Christian Vande Velde is in 15th place after the first stage. Switzerland's Fabian Cancellara remains in the overall lead after finishing Sunday in second.

Here's a look how Stage 1 finished:

1. Peter Sagan, Slovakia, Liquigas-Cannondale, 4 hours, 58 minutes, 19 seconds.
2. Fabian Cancellara, Switzerland, RadioShack-Nissan, same time.
3. Edvald Boasson Hagen, Norway, Sky Procycling, same time.
4. Philippe Gilbert, Belgium, BMC Racing, same time.
5. Bauke Mollema, Netherlands, Rabobank, same time.
6. Alejandro Valverde, Spain, Movistar, same time.
7. Robert Gesink, Netherlands, Rabobank, same time.
8. Daniel Martin, Ireland, Garmin-Sharp-Barracuda, same time.
9. Ryder Hesjedal, Canada, Garmin-Sharp-Barracuda, same time.
10. Dries Devenyns, Belgium, Omega Pharma-QuickStep, same time.

The overall standings currently look like this:

1. Fabian Cancellara, Switzerland, RadioShack-Nissan, 5 hours, 5 minutes, 32 seconds.
2. Bradley Wiggins, Britain, Sky Procycling, 7 seconds behind.
3. Sylvain Chavanel, France, Omega Pharma-QuickStep, same time.
4. Tejay Van Garderen, United States, BMC Racing, :10.
5. Edvald Boasoon Hagen, Norway, Sky Procycling, :11.
6. Denis Menchov, Russia, Katusha, :13.
7. Philippe Gilbert, Belgium, BMC Racing, same time.
8. Cadel Evans, Australia, BMC Racing, :17.
9. Vincenzo Nibali, Italy, Liquigas-Cannondale, :18.
10. Ryder Hesjedal, Canada, Garmin-Sharp-Barracuda, same time.

SB Nation Chicago is your source for 2012 Tour de France updates, and be sure to visit cycling blog Podium Cafe as well. You can also catch up on results and storylines from the 2012 Giro d'Italia here.