clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Indy 500 Results And Recap 2012: Franchitti Joins Exclusive Club With Third Victory

WIth his victory at the 2012 Indy 500 on Sunday, Dario Franchitti joined an exclusive club of race car drivers to have won the Indy 500 at least three times. Of those 10 racers, one— Helio Castroneves, who won his third Indy 500 in 2009— is still active, otherwise the feat hasn't been accomplished since the late 1980s.

Here's the full list of drivers to have won at least three Indy 500s (in chronological order):

  1. A.J. Foyt (4)
  2. Al Unser (4)
  3. Rick Mears (4)
  4. Louis Meyer (3)
  5. Wilbur Shaw (3)
  6. Mauri Rose (3)
  7. Johnny Rutherford (3)
  8. Bobby Unser (3)
  9. Helio Castroneves (3)
  10. Dario Franchitti (3)

Franchitti and Castroneves are two of only four active drivers to have won an Indy 500. The other two are Buddy Rice, who won in 2004, and Scott Dixon, who won in 2008.

For more updates on the Indy 500, stay tuned to this StoryStream. For more on Indy racing, including the 2012 Indianapolis 500, please visit Pop Off Valve.