clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Indianapolis 500 Lineup 2012: Briscoe, Hinchcliffe, Hunter-Reay Lead Pack Heading Into Race

The three racers that make up Row 1 of the 2012 Indianapolis 500 aren't exactly familiar with being at the head of an Indy 500 pack. Those racers— Ryan Briscoe, who holds the poll, James Hinchcliffe and Ryan Hunter-Reay— all finished outside of the top 20 in last year's race, though Briscoe did finish fifth in 2007 and Hunter-Reay sixth in 2008.

Last year's winner was Dan Wheldon, who died in October of 2011 in an accident at Las Vegas Motor Speedway during the IndyCar World Championship.

Here's the starting lineup for Sunday's Indianapolis 500, with the starting grid being grouped in threes:

  1. Ryan Briscoe
  2. James Hinchcliffe
  3. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  4. Marco Andretti
  5. Will Power
  6. Helio Castroneves
  7. Josef Newgarden
  8. Tony Kanaan
  9. EJ Viso
  10. Rubens Barrichello
  11. Alex Tagliani
  12. Graham Rahal
  13. Ana Beatriz
  14. Charlie Kimball
  15. Scott Dixon
  16. Dario Franchitti
  17. James Jakes
  18. J.R. Hildebrand
  19. Takuma Sato
  20. Townsend Bell
  21. Justin Wilson
  22. Michel Jourdain
  23. Simon Pagenaud
  24. Sebastian Saavedra
  25. Sebastien Bourdais
  26. Wade Cunningham
  27. Oriol Servia
  28. Ed Carpenter
  29. Mike Conway
  30. Katherine Legge
  31. Bryan Clauson
  32. Simona De Silvestro
  33. Jean Alesi

For updates, stay tuned to SB Nation Chicago. For more in-depth coverage of the 2012 Indy 500, head over to Indy racing blog Pop Off Valve.