clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Heisman Trophy announcement show time, TV schedule

Three talented players will ensure a 'first' happens on Saturday night.

Jeff Zelevansky

Former winner Ty Detmer will announce this year's 78th annual Heisman Memorial Trophy winner in New York on Sunday, Dec. 8. Two quarterbacks and a middle linebacker represent this year's nominees, with Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel being heavily favored to win this year's award.

The voting process is a detailed one, as the Heisman trust pulls from sports journalists around the country to make the decision, divorced as much as possible from any bias. In total, 870 votes will be cast to decide this year's winner, as writers decide between all-time firsts.

The aforementioned Manziel would be the first true freshman to ever win the award. Passing for over 3,400 yards and 24 touchdowns, he also proved to be equally effective with his legs -- rushing for 1,181 yards. Not only is the Aggies quarterback this year's favorite, he also holds the SEC record for total offensive yards in a season.

Fellow quarterback Collin Klein is also a gifted dual-threat QB. He Passed for 2,490 yards and rushed for 890 on the year. If Klein wins, he'll be the first Wildcat to take the award.

Finally, there's Manti Te'o. If he wins, it will be another first, as a victory would award him with the first Heisman trophy for a defensive player. The Notre Dame linebacker amassed 101 total tackles and seven interceptions as he was the heart of a defense that helped lead the Irish to the national championship game.

Where: Best Buy Theater, Times Square -- New York

Date/Time: Saturday, Dec. 8, 8 p.m. ET