clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Congratulations To The Colonel

After eight years of eligibility, former Chicago Bear Richard Dent is finally a member of the Pro Football Hall Of Fame.


The Super Bowl XX MVP became the 27th Chicago Bear to make the Hall of Fame. He joins Walter Payton, Mike Singletary, and Dan Hampton as Hall of Famers from the 1985 15-1 Super Bowl winning squad.


Dent was an eighth round pick by the Bears in the 1983 draft. The defensive end excelled in the Bears defense becoming a pro bowler in just his second year in the league. Dent’s best season was in 1985 when he recorded 17 sacks and was named the MVP of Super Bowl XX.


Joining Dent in the 2011 Hall of Fame Class were Marshall Faulk, Deion Sanders, Shannon Sharpe, Chris Hanburger, Les Richter, and Ed Sabol.