clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Shackleford Wins 2011 Preakness Stakes, Animal Kingdom Second

Shackleford went wire to wire and won the 2011 Preakness Stakes Saturday, leading throughout to win the 136th running of the event.

"It feels amazing," jockey Jesus Castanon said afterward on NBC. "I couldn't ask for a better run than he did."

Shackleford’s time was 1 minute, 56.47 seconds. Animal Kingdom, the Kentucky Derby winner, came on strong in the end but finished second by three-quarters of a length. There will be no Triple Crown this year.

Astrology was third and Dialed in was fourth.

Here’s the full order of finish, with the horse, trainer / jockey and opening odds:

1 Shackleford Dale Romans / Jesus Castanon 12/1

2 Animal Kingdom H. Graham Motion / John Velazquez 2/1

3 Astrology Steve Asmussen / Mike Smith 15/1

4 Dialed In Nick Zito / Julien Leparoux 9/2

5 Dance City Todd Pletcher / Ramon Dominguez 12/1

6 Mucho Macho Man Kathy Ritvo / Rajiv Maragh 6/1

7 King Congie Tom Albertrani / Robby Albarado 20/1

8 Mr. Commons John Shirreffs / Victor Espinoza 20/1

9 Isn’t He Perfect Doodnauth Shivmangal / Edgar Prado 30/1

10 Concealed Identity Eddie Gaudet / Sheldon Russell 30/1

11 Norman Asbjornson Christopher Grove / Julian Pimentel 30/1

12 Sway Away Jeff Bonde / Garrett Gomez 15/1

13 Midnight Interlude Bob Baffert / Martin Garcia 15/1

14 Flashpoint Wesley Ward / Cornelio Velasquez 20/1