Heisman Trophy winners list: Manti Te'o is trying to make history on Saturday night


On Saturday night, Manti Te'o will try to become the eighth player in Notre Dame history to take home the Heisman Trophy. Te'o is one of three finalists, along with Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel and Kansas State' Collin Klein.

On Saturday night, not only will Manti Te'o try and make history by becoming the first primarily defensive player to take home the Heisman Trophy, but he is also looking to join an elite group of Notre Dame alums to win the award as well.

If Te'o were to win Saturday night, he would be the eighth player in the school's history to take home the Heisman and the first since Tim Brown in 1987. The others were Angelo Bertelli (1943), Johnny Lujack (1947), Leon Hart (1949), John Lattner (1953), Paul Hornung (1956), John Huarte (1964).

Te'o finished the 2012 season with seven interceptions (the second most in college football) to go along with 103 tackles, 5.5 tackles for loss and 1.5 sacks. If he were to win the award, he would be the first ever player who strictly plays defense to take home the Heisman. Michigan defensive back Charles Woodson was the recipient in 1997, but he also played on offense and as a return man that season as well.

Te'o will be joined at Saturday night's ceremony by two other finalists: Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel and Collin Klein of Kansas State.

Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin won last year's award.

Here's the complete list of winners:

Year Winner School Position Points

1935 Jay Berwanger Chicago Halfback

1936 Larry Kelley Yale End 219

1937 Clint Frank Yale Halfback 524

1938 Davey O'Brien TCU Quarterback 519

1939 Nile Kinnick Iowa Halfback 651

1940 Tom Harmon Michigan Halfback 1303

1941 Bruce Smith Minnesota Halfback 554

1942 Frank Sinkwich Georgia Halfback 1059

1943 Angelo Bertelli Notre Dame Quarterback 648

1944 Les Horvath Ohio State Quarterback/Halfback 412

1945 Doc Blanchard Army Fullback 860

1946 Glenn Davis Army Halfback 792

1947 Johnny Lujack Notre Dame Quarterback 742

1948 Doak Walker SMU Halfback 778

1949 Leon Hart Notre Dame End 995

1950 Vic Janowicz Ohio State Halfback/Punter 633

1951 Dick Kazmaier Princeton Halfback 1777

1952 Billy Vessels Oklahoma Halfback 525

1953 Johnny Lattner Notre Dame Halfback 1850

1954 Alan Ameche Wisconsin Fullback 1068

1955 Howard Cassady Ohio State Halfback 2219

1956 Paul Hornung Notre Dame Quarterback 1066

1957 John David Crow Texas A&M Halfback 1183

1958 Pete Dawkins Army Halfback 1394

1959 Billy Cannon LSU Halfback 1929

1960 Joe Bellino Navy Halfback 1793

1961 Ernie Davis Syracuse Halfback/Linebacker/Fullback 824

1962 Terry Baker Oregon State Quarterback 707

1963 Roger Staubach Navy Quarterback 1860

1964 John Huarte Notre Dame Quarterback 1026

1965 Mike Garrett USC Halfback 926

1966 Steve Spurrier Florida Quarterback 1679

1967 Gary Beban UCLA Quarterback 1968

1968 O.J. Simpson USC Halfback 2853

1969 Steve Owens Oklahoma Fullback 1488

1970 Jim Plunkett Stanford Quarterback 2229

1971 Pat Sullivan Auburn Quarterback 1597

1972 Johnny Rodgers Nebraska Running back 1310

1973 John Cappelletti Penn State Running back 1057

1974 Archie Griffin Ohio State Running back 1920

1975 Archie Griffin Ohio State Running back 1800

1976 Tony Dorsett Pittsburgh Running back 2357

1977 Earl Campbell Texas Running back 1547

1978 Billy Sims Oklahoma Running back 1896

1979 Charles White USC Running back 1695

1980 George Rogers South Carolina Running back 1128

1981 Marcus Allen USC Running back 1797

1982 Herschel Walker Georgia Running back 1926

1983 Mike Rozier Nebraska Running back 1801

1984 Doug Flutie Boston College Quarterback 2240

1985 Bo Jackson Auburn Running back 1509

1986 Vinny Testaverde Miami Quarterback 2213

1987 Tim Brown Notre Dame Wide receiver 1442

1988 Barry Sanders Oklahoma State Running back 1878

1989 Andre Ware Houston Quarterback 1073

1990 Ty Detmer BYU Quarterback 1482

1991 Desmond Howard Michigan Wide receiver 2077

1992 Gino Torretta Miami Quarterback 1400

1993 Charlie Ward Florida State Quarterback 1743

1994 Rashaan Salaam Colorado Running back 1743

1995 Eddie George Ohio State Running back 1460

1996 Danny Wuerffel Florida Quarterback 1363

1997 Charles Woodson Michigan Cornerback 1815

1998 Ricky Williams Texas Running back 2355

1999 Ron Dayne Wisconsin Running back 2042

2000 Chris Weinke Florida State Quarterback 1628

2001 Eric Crouch Nebraska Quarterback 770

2002 Carson Palmer USC Quarterback 1328

2003 Jason White Oklahoma Quarterback 1481

2004 Matt Leinart USC Quarterback 1325

2005 Reggie Bush USC Running back 2541

2006 Troy Smith Ohio State Quarterback 2540

2007 Tim Tebow Florida Quarterback 1957

2008 Sam Bradford Oklahoma Quarterback 1726

2009 Mark Ingram, Jr. Alabama Running back 1304

2010 Cam Newton Auburn Quarterback 2263

2011 Robert Griffin III
Baylor Quarterback 1687

Trending Discussions

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation Chicago

You must be a member of SB Nation Chicago to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Chicago. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Chicago

You must be a member of SB Nation Chicago to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Chicago. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.